RentaBike-Berlin Discover Berlin by bike and try out our bike rental service. Further information follows.
Souvenirshop Berlin Visit us at Checkpoint Charlie - Berlin. You can find an assortment of selected souvenirs.
Sightseeing in Berlin
Berlin by bike
Brandenburg Gate | Museum Island | Victory Column | Berlin Dom/Cathedral | Memorial Church | Potsdamer Platz | Checkpoint Charlie
Schloß Charlottenburg (Residential Palace) | Gendarmenmarkt | TV Tower | Berlin Central Station Hub | New Government District

Display city map

Memorial Church 1. Memorial Church
The Kaiser-Wilhelm memorial church, at Breitscheidtplatz, built in a romanic style,is the main landmark of the Kurfüstendamm Boulevard. Its construction was ordered by Kaiser Wilhelm I and built from 1891 to 1895 according to Franz Schwechtens plans. Substantial damages sustained during WWII left the church very damaged and it now serves as a war monument.


Potsdamer Platz 2. Potsdamer Platz
The Potsdamer Platz has been transformed from virtually nothing to a city centre within a period of ten years. It has also become one of the most attractive and at the same time most modern locations in Berlin. Besides all the "Arkaden" and covered pavements one can also discover the huge Sony Center with 3D-Cinema. Other attracions include the numerous specialty restaurants, such as the Asia Pavillon, the Wiener cafe or even a Sushi Bar.


Checkpoint-Charlie 3. Checkpoint-Charlie
Checkpoint Charlie is one of the most important East-West border crossing points in Berlin. Amongst other attractions it offers the highly recommendable Wall Museum and a "natural light" gallery. According to popular rumours, spies and agents defected and were also swapped at this site. Today, even though a small house is the only reminder of those times, one more interested in this building can make a more detailed discovery tour in the afore-mentioned museum. In 2007, this was the location for the ZDF-channel filming called. "The Lady from Checkpoint Charlie"


Gendarmenmarkt 4. Gendarmenmarkt
The Gendarmenmarkt is definitively one of the top attractions in Berlin. It is flanked by three monumental buildings around it: The German Cathedral, French Cathedral and the concert hall building. The entire complex was erected in the 17th century based on Johann Arnold Nering`s design and planning. It is one of the sites that not only tourist visitiors` but also Berliners must visit!


TV Tower 5. TV Tower
This structure, with a height of 368m, is the tallest in Germany and offers a breathtaking 360 degree panorama view across the entire city. The globe head structure has restaurant facilities. Construction work began in 1964 and took almost 4 years to complete ( October 1969 ), during the Socialist period when it was locted in the GDR.


Museum Island 6. a Museum Island
The unique museum island is one of the largest museum complexes in the whole of Europe. In 1999 it was placed on the UNESCO list of World Cultural Heritage Sites. The island boasts a huge spectrum of museums for visitors. One example is the Old National Art Gallery with interchangeing exhibitions???. However, the most popular is the Pergammon museum by Alfred Messel, which has on display archeological findings from the Antiquity as well as Near East.


Berliner Dom 6. b Berlin Dom/Cathedral
The Berlin Dome (cathedral), situated on the Spree island, is the largest of its kind in Berlin. It was designed according to Rome`s St. Peter`s Dome by Julius Raschdorff. The building period lasted from 1894 till 1905. It houses, amongst others, the Kaiserloge, the Alterpiece by Karl Begas, the main altar by August Stüler, a viewing gallery and the Dome vault - containing over 100 sarcophages of the Hohenzollern Dynasty.


Brandenburg Gate 7. Brandenburg Gate
Brandenburg Gate serves as the national unification symbol as well as landmark for the city of Berlin. It was built during the period 1789 - 1791 based on a design by Gottfried Langhans. It is topped by a figure depicting the Peace Goddess Victoria being drawn by a chariot with four horses. This statue was designed by Gottfried Schadow and built in 1784. Travel offices can be found on both sides of the monument. They open daily from 10 00 - 18 00 hours.


Hauptbahnhof / Central Station Hub 8. Hauptbahnhof / Central Station Hub
This central train station is the most important transport hub in Berlin. Any location in Berlin or the Brandenburg region starts here. With its large number of retail businesses one may even regard it as sort of shopping centre. The shops´opening hours last from 0800 till 2200 hours ( all 7 days). The architectural design planning was done by Meinhard von Gerkan.


Schloß Charlottenburg (Residential Palace) 9. Schloß Charlottenburg (Residential Palace)
the Charlottenburg Residential Palace was a King`s residential site for a long time and turned into a museum. It dispays a large picture 18th and 19th century picture collection. In the front court is a huge equestrian statue ( by Andreas Schlüters ) which is presented as a masterpiece of the German Baroque period. The palace garden grounds have been transformed into the present English Garden.


Victory Column Victory Column
The Victory column supports a statue of the Goddess Victoria, which is widely known as the "Golden Else" due to the golden hue. It was designed by Heinrich Strack on behalf of Kaiser Wilhelm I and initially erected at the Königsplatz, which lasted from 1864 till 1873. During the Nazi years it was removed to the present site at the "Großer Stern" ( Big Star ) which also functions as a huge five-street-roundabout. With a height of almost 50m a superb panorama view is possible at this site.


New Government District New Government District
This is the right location for those interested in places where great political decisions took and take place. Apart from the Reichstag and the Chancellor`s office there are a lot more sights to visit!


Pictures supported by: Katharina Dorn & Reina Gaertner - publicon Gmbh
www.rentabike-berlin.de | Friedrichstrasse 210 (access via Kochstr.) | Tel.: 030 24 03 78 65 | Pictures | Contact | Imprint Deutsch

RentaBike-Berlin Erkunden Sie Berlin by Bike und nutzen Sie unseren Fahrradverleihservice. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.
Souvenirshop Berlin Besuchen Sie uns am Checkpoint Charly in Berlin. Hier finden Sie ausgewählte Souvenirs.
Sightseeing in Berlin
mit dem Fahhrad durch Berlin
Brandenburger Tor | Museumsinsel | Siegessäule | Berliner Dom | Gedächtniskirche | Potsdamer Platz | Checkpoint-Charlie
Schloß Charlottenburg | Gendarmenmarkt | Fernsehturm | Hauptbahnhof | Regierungsviertel

Stadtplan anzeigen

Gedächtniskirche 1. Gedächtniskirche
Die im romanischen Stil gebaute Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gedächtniskirche am Breitscheidplatz ist das Wahrzeichen des Kurfürstendamms. Sie wurde von Kaiser Wilhelm II. in Auftrag gegeben und nach den Entwürfen von Franz Schwechten zwischen 1891 bis 1895 erbaut. Während des 2. Weltkriegs 1943 wurde sie größtenteils zerstört und ist heute ein bekanntes Symbol gegen den Krieg.


Potsdamer Platz 2. Potsdamer Platz
Der Potsdamer Platz wurde in nur 10 Jahren errichtet und zählt heute zum Stadtzentrum. Es ist nun einer der schönsten und gleichzeitig modernsten Plätze Berlins. Hier finden Sie neben den Arkaden auch das große Sony Center mit einem 3D-Kino, aber auch viele Spezialitätenrestaurants, wie zum Beispiel das Asia Pavillon, das Wiener Café oder auch eine Sushi Bar.


Checkpoint-Charlie 3. Checkpoint-Charlie
Der Checkpoint-Charlie war einer der wohl berühmtesten Grenzübergänge zwischen Ost- und Westberlin. Hier finden Sie unter anderem ein sehr zu empfehlendes Mauermuseum und eine Freilichtgalerie. Es gibt Geschichten, dass am Checkpoint-Charlie Agenten aus Ost und West die Seiten wechselten. Heute erinnert zwar (fast) nur noch ein kleines Häuschen an die Mauer, wer aber Interesse an der Berliner Geschichte hat kann sich im bereits erwähnten Museum einen genaueren Eindruck verschaffen. 2007 wurde hier der Film "Die Frau vom Checkpoint Charlie" von der ARD gedreht.


Gendarmenmarkt 4. Gendarmenmarkt
Der Gendarmenmarkt gehört definitiv zu den schönsten Plätzen Berlins. Drei Monumentale Gebäude stehen um ihn herum: Der Deutsche und der Französischen Dom sowie das Konzerthaus. Entstanden ist er im 17. Jahrhundert nach den Entwürfen von Johann Arnold Nering. Als Tourist sollte man ihn genauso wie als Einwohner Berlins unbedingt einmal gesehen haben.


Fernsehturm 5. Fernsehturm
Der Fernsehturm ist mit 368m das höchste Gebäude Deutschlands und bietet eine atemberaubende 360° Aussicht über ganz Berlin. In der Turmkugel befindet sich ein rotierendes Restaurant. Die Bauarbeiten begannen 1964 und dauerten fast vier Jahre, bis Oktober 1969, an. In unmittelbarer Nähe befindet sich der Bahnhof Alexanderplatz und das große Einkaufszentrum Alexa, welches mit ca. 180 Geschäften eines der größten Berlins ist.


Museumsinsel 6. a Museumsinsel
Die Berliner Museumsinsel ist einer der größten Museumskomplexe von ganz Europa. 1999 wurde es in die UNESCO-Liste des Weltkulturerbes aufgenommen. Das Spektrum an Museen auf der Insel ist riesig: Hier steht zum Beispiel die Alte Nationalgalerie und Wechselausstellungen. Am beliebtesten ist aber das Pergamonmuseum von Alfred Messel, welches archäologische Funde aus der Antike und Vorderasien beinhaltet.


Berliner Dom 6. b Berliner Dom
Der Berliner Dom ist der größte Dom der Hauptstadt und liegt auf der Spreeinsel. Erbaut wurde er nach Plänen von Julius Raschdorff als Vorbild galt der Petersdom zu Rom. Die Bauarbeiten dauerten von 1894 bis 1905 an. Er beinhaltet unter anderem die Kaiserloge, das Altarbild von Karl Begas, den Hauptaltar von August Stüler, eine Aussichtsgalerie und die Domgruft, in der fast 100 Sarkophage der Hohenzollern liegen.


Brandenburger Tor 7. Brandenburger Tor
Das Brandenburger Tor ist das Symbol der Wiedervereinigung, das Wahrzeichen Berlins und ein zentraler Treffpunkt für Touristen. Es wurde in den Jahren 1788 bis 1791 von Gottfried Langhans gebaut. Auf ihm thront die Friedensgöttin Viktoria auf einer Kutsche mit vier Pferden. An beiden Seiten des Denkmals befinden sich Tourismusbüros. Diese haben täglich von 10 bis 18 Uhr geöffnet.


Hauptbahnhof 8. Hauptbahnhof
Der Hauptbahnhof ist der wichtigste Knotenpunkt Berlins. Von hieraus gelangen Sie praktisch zu jedem beliebigen Ort in Berlin und Brandenburg. Man könnte ihn dank seiner vielen Geschäften auch als Einkaufszentrum bezeichnen. Diese haben Montag bis Sonntag von 8 bis 22 Uhr geöffnet. Entworfen wurde der Berliner Hauptbahnhof vom Architekten Meinhard von Gerkan.


Schloß Charlottenburg 9. Schloss Charlottenburg
Das Schloss Charlottenburg war lange Zeit Königsresidenz und wurde zum Museum umgewandelt. Es beinhaltet u.a. eine große Gemäldesammlung des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts. Im Vorhof findet man das berühmte Reiterstandbild von Andreas Schlüters, das als Meisterstück des deutschen Barock gilt. Der Schlossgarten ist heute ein englischer Garten.


Siegessäule Siegessäule
Auf der Siegessäule thront die Siegesgötting Viktoria, die dank ihrer goldenen Färbung auch als "Gold-Else" bekannt ist. Sie wurde im Auftrag von Kaiser Wilhelm I. von Heinrich Strack entworfen und wurde ursprünglich auf dem Königsplatz erbaut, was von 1864 bis 1873 andauerte. In der NS-Zeit wurde sie zum "Großen Stern" versetzt, wo sie heute noch, inmitten eines fünf Straßen verbindenden großen Kreisverkehrs steht. Mit fast 50m Höhe hat man einen wundervollen Panoramablick auf Berlin.


Regierungsviertel Regierungsviertel
Wen Orte von großen politischen Entscheidungen interessieren, ist hier genau richtig: Abgesehen vom Bundeskanzleramt und dem Reichstag ist gibt es hier noch viel mehr zu sehen!


Bilder wurden bereitgestellt von: Katharina Dorn & Reina Gaertner - publicon Gmbh
www.rentabike-berlin.de | Friedrichstraße 210 (Eingang Kochstraße) | Tel.: 030 24 03 78 65 | Bilder | Kontakt | Impressum English